Hello Blogland!

Today seems to be the day in which I join networking sites, in order to follow my friends.  I’m such a sheep, a fuzzy sheepy lady.  With warm fuzzy sheepy mittens.   That I will rub all over my face, or your face.   Also, it has been a day of moderate productivity and massive procrastination.   While most of my procrastination has been putzing about the internet, I spent quite a few hours cooking, as I often do.

I know you’re thinking “Man, does this lady ever shut up and get to the point”.

No, not often, but this time I will!  Further posts will mostly be my cooking adventures, my spinning and knitting endeavors, and other crafty things I might do.  Oh right, it also will be recipes, especially when I tweak them – so I can remember what I did to them!!.

Today’s Dinner!

Acorn Squash Gnocchi, with Salt and Pepper Chicken.

From this blogger, who I found through tastespotting (http://csadelivery.blogspot.com/2008/10/butternut-squash-gnocchi.html)

2 cups smashed Acorn Squash (Roasted in the oven at 350* for 30-40 min, with olive oil and salt, flipped once then mashed with a fork)
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 egg yolks
1 cup parmesan cheese

I just mixed it all together, to make  a really sticky dough (add more flour if it’s too sticky to handle).  Let it sit about 15-20 min.  Take a chunk of the dough and roll it into a snake, either pinch off balls or cut into short pieces.  This can best be done on a floured surface, keep flouring everything!  Drop the gnocchi into salted boiling water, and pull them out and drain them once they start to float on the surface.

The gnocchi were then sauteed in a healthy amount of butter, with salt, pepper and oregano.

Accompanying the gnocchi were little nuggets of salt and pepper chicken, which had been dredged in flour prior to frying.  And, something quite unusual, my roommate and I had wine with dinner!  It is my bottle of  Dr. Konstantin Frank’s 2007 Gewurztraminer, a lovely  “medium to full” wine from the Finger Lakes in New York

Stay tuned for other awkwardly written adventures of food or crafting!!

Leave a Reply

