Hundreds of Seeds!!!

As you may have noticed in the previous post, my friend and I loaded 6 pumpkins into the back of her car.  This was for a very specific reason – pumpkin carving!

I happen to Love holidays.  I’ve never been really into tons of decorating, but each holiday has it’s own little ritual that Must be Done.   In the case of Halloween, pumpkins Must be carved.  Costumes should happen, if one has a place to wear one.  If not, go to the mall in something out of the ordinary.  Other than this, other activities are encouraged, but they don’t have to be the same every year.

Having brought my friends around to certain holiday necessities, the six of us carved pumpkins together.

I carved Spock and a ‘live long and prosper’  hand!  Thus enforcing what I geek I am.

Of course, 6 giant pumpkins come with a whole lot of seeds.  I had almost my whole colander filled (which, when wet, is the most amazing textural sensation to run your hands through).  This meant that I ended up spending most of my Wednesday baking pumpkin seeds (and making pumpkin cupcakes, doing laundry and cleaning – I only have one class, it’s my day to Get Things Done)

About 1 – 1 1/2 cups were flavored with…

1-2 tsp Worcester sauce
1-2 tsp garlic powder
liberal salt
1 tbsp butter

Another two cups got a coating of…

Butter
Salt
Pepper

And the rest were simply…

Salt
Butter

Each variety was spread out upon a baking sheet and placed in the over at 275*.  Every 5 – 10 min they were mixed and flipped, until they dried out (about 30-40 min total)

From what I have been told, they are quite tasty and quite the success!

Leave a Reply

