Nawleans Cookin…

When I was a child, I was quite the picky eater.  There are still quite a few foods I still will not eat, but I will at least try most foods (I do have limits…)  A lot of my problems were (and still are) texture based.  I also didn’t like fast food, and until the middle of elementary school I only liked Taco Bell.  This was a problem with how much we traveled, especially when heading down the south, towards North Carolina.  At some point I learned to like red beans and rice, and will have random strong cravings.  Today, was one of those days.

I had spent a good chunk of my day thinking about what I was going to eat for dinner, and the idea of red beans and rice just kept circling around.  When my roommate called asking if I was home and ready to eat, I asked if he had any preference.  To my shock, and pleasure, he mentioned rice!  So I went ahead with my red beans and rice adventure.

I have never made this before, nor could I find a suitable recipe, so I just… threw it together, with what kinda smelled and sounded right.

Red Beans (and rice…)
(serves about 3…)

1 can Kidney Beans
¾ cup onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne
Salt and Pepper (to taste)

Dice the onions, I like to have them super small so they disintegrate while cooking – all of the flavor, none of the texture – and sauté them with butter in a sauce pan, until slightly caramelize.  Crush or mince the garlic and add that to the caramelized onions.  Add the can of beans, liquid and all, and about ¼ cup water and cook over medium heat.  Add the dry spices, and mix in.  I let the beans cook until thick and mushy, about 10-15 min – , and squished some of them up against the side of the pan.

For extra tasty, cut 1 chicken breast into small cubes, sauté until cooked through, and about 3 patties worth of sausage, fry until cooked.  Add the meat at the very end.  If you happen to not eat meat, this was really good with out it.  I just like meat.  A lot.

Serve with plain white rice, and any cooked frozen corn.  (1 cup rice to 2 cups water, bring to a boil, simmer covered for about 10-15 min, nuke the corn on the frozen veg setting.  I’m sure you can figure that out…)

Consuuuuuuume!

Leave a Reply

