Pumpkiny Joy

Woo!  It’s pumpkin time!!  To me, it’s not fall until the air smells like burnt leaves and I bake with pumpkin. Pies, quick breads, cupcakes, cakes, I’m not picky!

I happen to adore almost all foods made with pumpkin, and I have yet to meet a dessert with pumpkin in it that I do not like.  I had been so excited to make a whole bunch of pumpkin things, and when I went to bake?  I had no pumpkin.  Thus, the banana bread and bread pudding.  I also couldn’t find my favorite cupcake book, which has finally appeared!

After an adventure, which included loading six pumpkins in my friend’s trunk, I finally had pumpkin to bake with.

The first on my list?  Pumpkin cupcakes!

My mom had gotten me cupcake pans in the shape of little pumpkins, and at the time I went “When am I going to use these?”  But I have found a way.  Oh yes indeed.

Pumpkin Cupcakes
From cupcakes! By Elinor Klivans

11/2 cups flour
¾ tsp baking powder
¾ tsp baking soda
Salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp ground cloves
¼ tsp ground nutmeg
½ cup butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 cup sugar
1 cup canned pumpkin
3 eggs

Mix, on low, the pumpkin butter and sugar until combined.  Add the eggs, and mix until incorporated.  Add the dry ingredients (you will find that I rarely, if ever, pre mix or sift my dry ingredients together.  I have never had texture problems, and when I compare the two the only difference I have found is that one leaves me with many more things to clean.)

Fill each cup about half to three-quarters full, bake for 25 min in a 350* oven.  Turn out and let cool.  Time to prepare the frosting!

Cream Cheese Frosting

6 oz. crème cheese, softened
½ cup butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
3 cups powdered sugar.

Mix the cream cheese and butter together, until well mixed.  Add the vanilla.  Slowly add the powdered sugar, about ½ cup at a time, until it is all incorporated.  Beat it on a higher setting for fluffier frosting.

While making this frosting, you may wish to consider the possibility of Baker’s lung.  I may not be sure this is a real illness, but I find it likely.  Way more awesome then black lung though.

Put the frosting in a plastic bag, and use a chopstick or spoon handle to start a hole in the sides of the cupcake, and then squeeze the frosting in!

My cello prof loved it

Leave a Reply

