Chocolaty Goodness

Seeing as I am college student, I am constantly broke.  As a result birthday presents frequently manifest themselves as baked goods.  My friend just turned 21, and I was trying to make him a different kind of cake than I have before and he suggested that brownies might be tasty.  I didn’t have much time last week, and then I ran out of eggs.  We didn’t get to go on a grocery adventure until last night. Needless to say, there was a slight delay in getting it all done.

Wednesdays are my shortest days, I only have one class from 11-12 then I am free to be productive – and bake or cook!  I finally had time to get brownies done for my friend!  And make the Mac and Cheese I have been craving for a week or two!  The baking and cooking are also extremely cathartic after a few days of bitchy, difficult teachers and frustrating classes.

 

Tasty Chocolaty Treat

 

Brownies

3/4 cup melted butter
1 cup brown sugar
½ cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
½ Cup Unsweetened Cocoa (I had about a 1/3 cup left, so I topped it with sweet cocoa power.)
3 eggs
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
¾ cup flour

Melt the butter and add it to the sugars and vanilla until well blended.  I added the Cocoa into the warm butter/sugar in the hopes it would melt some, but I could be high.  Incorporate the eggs, and when those are well mixed add the dry ingredients and mix into a smooth batter.  This batter, it will be delicious.  Try not to eat it all so there is something left to bake, but go to town on those beaters!!

Bake in a 350* oven for 30-45 min.  I used a spring form pan (perhaps 8 in?) lined with buttered foil, because I made these for my friends birthday – and a circle is all cake looking and can be decorated accordingly.  And because I felt like it, damnit.

 

So Excited

One thought on “Chocolaty Goodness

Leave a Reply

