For the party I did not attend…

This actually happened BEFORE the oatmeal cookies…

Many moons ago I told my cello friend that I would one day teach him how to fold tortellini.  We never quite got around to it, despite constant “we should do stuff sometime” conversations.  He finally requested the lesson, because his ASTA friends were having a party and wanted to do something different.  In an interesting turn of events I wasn’t available to go to the party, but I had already agreed to help make the pasta.  So I did anyways.

I made the fillings ahead of time, because my cello friend would only have a few hours.  Although tortellini are relatively easy to make, it is a very time consuming pasta.

Both recipes make a fuckton of filling

Sausage Filling

1 ½ cup Ricotta
½ cup Parmesan
½ cup Mozzarella
1 lb Italian Sausage
Salt and Pepper to taste

Cheese and Spinach

1 ½ cup Ricotta
½ cup Romano
¾ cup Parmesan
¾ cup Mozzarella
1 tsp dried basil
Salt and Pepper to taste

Pasta dough

2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Make a low volcano or crater of flour on your counter (or a bowl, if you don’t have a good pasta counter)  Carefully mix the eggs with your fingers, slowly incorporating the flour.  As it all comes together, knead until smooth.  Or partially knead and use your pasta roller to finish smoothing it all out.

After many problems with getting our pasta dough to work, we finally succeeded.  We had a pile of retarded tortellinis, and many odd shaped scraps.  In the end, we had quite a bit of tortellini, ready to go!

According to everyone at the party, they were quite delicious.  Though, I have yet to make up the leftovers I kept and shoved in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

