Posole

As I get older I keep going back to those things that were such a big deal when I was little.  Because I can, and now that I can Do It Myself.  I’ve noticed this as I’ve been writing little stories before each recipe.  So it begins.

When I was little, we lived in Albuquerque.  We joined the Southwestern tradition of tamales and posole on Christmas  eve.  Our Christmas tradition is nearly nonexistent, we do something different every year, but Christmas eve is consistent.  We’ve never made our tamales, but we always make a big delicious pot of posole.

Apparently, it was my turn to make it, under the assumption I knew how.  I didn’t.  I knew bits and steps, but had never actually done it enough to remember it.  But here it is!

Posole

5-6 lbs pork (flank meat…?)
28 oz canned hominy
1 onion, chopped
5-6 cloves of garlic, chopped
4-6 jalapenos (depends on how spicy you want it…
3-4 tsp red chili powder (New Mexico red is the best, if you can get it)
3-4 tsp cumin
2 tsp oregano
Salt and Pepper

As is common with stews or soups, the amounts are very approximate, changing to suit the cooks taste.

Cube the pork, in to bite size pieces or 1 inch cubes.  Salt, Pepper and Flour the pork, and brown them in a pan in  hot oil, vegetable oil is fine.  It is important to do this in batches, so that all the pieces brown.  Set aside.  If you have bones with your meat, brown them separately, and throw them in the pot.

Chop the onion and garlic, and put in a large pot with the pork.  Cover with water.   Chop the jalapenos, this can be done before or after the other things are combined, one of the lovely things about stews.  Remove seeds and membranes if you don’t want it to be as spicy.  Add 2 tsp of chili powder, cumin and oregano.  Lightly salt and pepper (a tsp of each).  Bring the pot to a boil, and reduce to a simmer.  Leave to simmer for about an hour.  Add the hominy at the end, about a half hour before you want to serve it.  Add more water if you need to.  At the end, check spices and add more as necessary.  Usually a tsp or two of each, except the oregano.

Enjoy!  This is one of my favorite winter foods!

Leave a Reply

