Curry Time!

I am either incapable or uninterested in following a recipe exactly.  I inevitably change something, whether it is a key ingredient or something minor.  Usually, it has to do with what I have on hand, foods I strongly like/dislike or what I can find at Meijers.  A little while ago I found a really good looking recipe here it is in French, but there is a handy translate button on the top.  It asked for green peppers – which I can barely stand the smell of, and coriander leaves – which I couldn’t find at the store.  Though, after researching it later I discovered it was the same as cilantro, so I’m glad I left it out.

I had actually been craving some sort of curry dish, and was also looking for interesting ways to use the pork I got other then as Schnitzel (which I made last weekend)

 

Tikka Pork

Mariande

1 Onion, minced
2 in Ginger, minced
3 Cloves Garlic, mince
1 Cup yogurt (plain)
1 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tsp coriander powder
2 tsp garam masala
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 ground pepper

1 lb cubed pork

Cube the pork.  Mince the onion, garlic and ginger.  Add spices and yogurt to the cubed and minced materials, preferably in a bag.  Allow to marinate at least overnight.  I didn’t actually have coriander powder, so I ground the seeds in my mortar and pestle.

Ready to cook dinner?!  Now is the time!  Pull that bag of marinated meat out of the fridge!

Tikka Pork – Dinner Time!

1/4 cup oil
1/2 onion, minced
1 (large) clove garlic, minced
1 in ginger, minced
1 tsp ground fenugreek
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp garam masala
Salt

Add the oil to a large sauce pan (big enough to just have one layer of meat), set it a little above medium.  When the oil is hot, add the onion, garlic and ginger.  Cook about 2-3 min, stirring constantly.  Add the bay leaf and fenugreek, I also had to hand grind my fenugreek seeds.  Once those are incorporated in the pan, add the marinated meat, and everything that has been sitting with it.  Cook on high for about 5 mins.  Bring the heat down to medium and cooka bout 30-35 min.  Add the garam masala and salt at the end, cook for a few more minutes.  Serve over rice!

I ended up scooping out some of the sauce before it was done, because it seemed too soupy.

The roommate enjoyed it quite a bit, as did I.  Way tasty.

Leave a Reply

