I was good at this for a little while…

I have noticed that the amount of posts I have are  not equal to the amount of interesting foods I have made.  Or to the amount of recipes I’ve tried and putzed around with.   This is going to be my attempt to update various recipes (and procrastinate, stupid project) Some may contain the date which it was tried, if I happen to remember.  Others, well, they won’t.  And you’ll like it.  Or you won’t, doesn’t matter to me.

On Monday, February 8 – I made parsnip fritters.

Parsnip fritters are super easy.  I found an interesting recipe off of Tastespotting…  and then I had to fool around with ratios.

2 large parsnips
3/4 cup flour
1 tbsp buttermilk power + 1/3 cup milk
1 egg
Salt and Pepper!

Peel and grate the parsnips.  The recipe called for buttermilk, and I only had power but I wanted it a little creamier so I added milk instead of water to the buttermilk powder.  Add the buttermilk, milk, flour and eggs and mix it all in a bowl with the grated parsnips.  It should have a batter like consistency around the parsnip shreds.

On medium heat, put 2 tbsp butter and a few tablespoons of vegetable oil (for a lovely buttery crust but lowering the smoke point!!) in a pan.  Pick your size, the larger it is – the more you can make each batch.  Of course, if you only have a little pan, there is nothing stopping you from making these.  You just have to be more patient – I know it’s hard – but it is totally worth it!   Spoon out the fritter batter, pat down into patties in the pan.  Let them fry a few minutes each side – until they are golden brown and are sticking together.

Serve to your friends and enjoy the praise.

Leave a Reply

