Rice Pudding?

I am about to divulge my greatest shame.  Last week – I burnt rice.  I had never before in my LIFE burned rice.  I didn’t just burn it – I turned the bottom quarter inch of rice into black char – the smoke alarm went off – it was BAD.

Now, in my defense I was sick.  Which is why I so desperately wanted rice pudding in the first place.  The Joel had been sick, and had maybe passed his sick to me?  I’m still not sure if it was the SAME sick.  Either way, I was miserable, my throat hurt and I had been sleeping all day.  The Joel came over to hang out.  But, damnit, I wanted rice pudding.  So I put rice on – turned it up to boiling (like you do) and turned it down to simmer, and put the lid on a started the timer.  Or at least I thought I did – what I really did was turn the OTHER burner on to low, and left the rice burner on high.  The Joel noticed the burning smell seconds before the smoke alarm went off.

After starting to clean out the pot – all the bottom rice was burned.  Then I discovered it was burned ON and there I was with no steel wool.  It was a week until I went to the store and remembered to pick up copper scrubbies – that pot is now clean and silver like its supposed to be.

And as wonderful as this story of my shame is – I did redeem myself.  I made rice pudding.  It was delicious.

I have a favorite recipe that requires different milk, and coconut milk and more spices – but lacking those things I made a simple version

Rice Pudding

1 cup Jasmine rice
4 cups 2% milk
3/4-1 cup sugar
vanilla

I know you are generally supposed to wash rice – to get the starchyness off of it – but I wanted it to be clumpy and delicious so I didnt.  Put 1 cup of rice in a pot, with 2 cups of water.  Bring to a boil.  Once it is boiling reduce heat to a simmer (low heat), and cover.  Let cook for 20 minutes.

Generally rice pudding uses heavy cream or at least whole milk.  But I had neither.  Turns out you can make a damn tasty rice pudding that isn’t quite as rich, but extremely satisfying.

If you though ahead enough to do this in a big pot – don’t bother to let the rice cool, just stir it and add the milk and sugar.  Bring that to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer.  Let cook about 20-30 minutes, or until thick.  This is something you can set a timer, wander back and forth every few minutes stirring the pot and socializing or going on your computer.  Add the vanilla and simmer another 10-15 minutes.  CONSUUUUUUME!

I like this best warm with cinnamon sprinkled on top.  Whipped cream is good too.  I also like it cold.

Ok, I just love rice pudding.

One thought on “Rice Pudding?

  1. adversityandfriends says:

    I request that you add new posts about:

    – Pumpkin shakes
    – The cake you’re going to make for Abby
    – Spinning wheels or looms
    – ANYTHING! JUST UPDATE!!!!

Leave a Reply

